Yone’s first Whopper

5 08 2016

I remember my first Whoppper.

It seems pretty daft, superficial, uninteresting, but I vividly remember eating my first Whopper.

I was 9. We were on holiday in Canada. We went to the wedding of my mother’s niece to which we, as it turned out, weren’t actually invited or even welcome for that matter. My mother’s uncle emigrated to Canada many years before and his daughter was getting married. We spent some time with him in Montreal and then moved on to Toronto to visit my father’s best friend who left Amsterdam  in the 50’s.

I can’t remember why we decided to eat at the Burger King, it must have been one of those exotic things to do as fast food and hamburgers had not settled yet in Dutch every day life.

I was completely overwhelmed by the taste, and so was my mother. My father was not impressed at all and we didn’t manage to talk him into stopping at the Burger King for a second time…

There is a Burger King outside the cinema here at the mall in La Orotava. Yone and I went to watch the BFG. One of our favourite Roald Dahls. We don’t go to the cinema very often. It’s quite expensive and all films are dubbed in Spanish. But its summer holidays, exeptions are made. And after the film Yone sunk his teeth into his first Whopper.

 whopper


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

